DUI Defense Strategy - Criminal Penalties

Broward County DUI Defense Lawyer Lawrence B. Wolk Fights the Criminal Penalties of Drunk Driving Charges in South Florida

The State of Florida doesn't take DUI convictions lightly. If you've been arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs or other controlled substances in Broward, Miami-Dade or Palm Beach counties, you're facing harsh penalties and need an advocate in your corner. The Law Offices of Lawrence B. Wolk & Associates are experienced in pursuing aggressive defense strategies in South Florida DUI cases. Put them to work for you by calling (888) 965-5529 today.

Florida DUI Criminal Penalties

First DUI Conviction:

  • License suspension - 180 days to 1 year
  • Jail sentence - Up to 6 months
  • Fines - $500 - $1,000
  • Community Service - Minimum of 50 hours with additional fines of $10 per hour
  • DUI School - Must complete prior to hardship reinstatement of driver's license

Second DUI Conviction:

  • License suspension - 180 days to five years
  • Jail sentence - Up to 9 months
  • Fine - $1,000 - $2,000
  • DUI School - Must complete following conviction

Third DUI Conviction:

  • License suspension - revocation of at least 10 year
  • Jail sentence - Up to 12 months
  • Fines - $2,000 - $5,000

Fourth or More DUI Conviction:

  • License suspension - Permanent revocation; no hardship reinstatement
  • Jail sentence - Up to 5 years as a habitual/violent offender
  • Fines - Not less than $2,000

DUI Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide:

  • License suspension - Mandatory permanent revocation; possibility of hardship reinstatement after five years
  • Jail sentence - Up to 15 years
  • Fines - Up to $10,000

Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene

  • License suspension - Mandatory 3 year revocation
  • Jail sentence -- Up to 30 years
  • Fines - Up to $10,000
  • DUI School - Must complete prior to hardship reinstatement of driver's license

Enhanced penalties may apply under the following circumstances:

  • If blood alcohol content is about .15 percent at the time of the arrest
  • If chemical blood alcohol content exam is refused
  • If driver is operating a commercial vehicle
  • If subsequent convictions occur within a certain time period of initial conviction
  • If driver is under age 21 and has a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or higher

If you've been arrested for DUI, call (888) 965-5529. Lawrence B. Wolk & Associates has the legal expertise to provide the best defense available. Initial consultations are free.